We All Need a Thicker Hide…

“Was I bitter? Absolutely. Hurt? You bet your sweet ass I was hurt. Who doesn’t feel a part of their heart break at rejection. You ask yourself every question you can think of, what, why, how come, and then your sadness turns to anger. That’s my favorite part. It drives me…”
Jennifer Salaiz

So, I got a rejection this week. Nothing new in this at all, Normally rejections don’t affect me all that much. I know about all sorts of writers who got a lot of rejections before they struck lucky, but weirdly, this one really did bother me. Why?

Because, quite honestly, I thought I had a chance. Being the sensitive type (sadly), I had to come up with a few strategies:

  1. When I do not feel like writing, I try to write anyway. I love the idea of putting a cross in the calendar for every day you write – however little. There will come a point at which you won’t ‘break the chain’ as the crosses connect. Works for me!
  2. For every rejection I get, I put another thing ‘out there’. By now it’s automatic.
  3. No waiting around. Once something is submitted, I carry on with another project.
  4. Finally, on the occasions that things go right, every cutting is framed and put up where I write. Just to remind me when my resilience wears thin.
Leave a Reply

