My Secret Hoard…

As I write this, I am sitting in the room beside my son’s whistle lesson, stray nearly-musical notes battling their way through the wall.

I am in that odd situation where the crime novel for children I’ve been working on (called The Dog-Walking Consortium) is out for comment, so I need to wait. Meanwhile, I should do a rewrite of the historical novel manuscript I completed a while ago. The feedback is all there, so what’s the problem?

I’ll tell you the truth : I’m struggling. For a start, the day job gets in the way –  teaching in a secondary school gets a bit crazy at this time of year, as all my teacher friends will verify – and I’m about to take the family to London and Paris. So, a bit of organising to do!

Also, major rewrites take ages. Even if you invest the time – scraping it, minute by minute, from the near-empty dish of your day – the thing is: it doesn’t even pay off. Mostly.

But it might.

Or it might not.

You just never know…

Thankfully, I have a whole hoard of snippets, quotes and tips I come back to at times like these. A bit of treasure in a handful of words. Here’s a random few gems:Image result for secret hoard

“I have heard tell that that what you imagine sometimes comes true.” Grandpa Joe, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory,  Roald Dahl
“A person is a fool to become a writer. His only compensation is absolute freedom. He has no master except his own soul, and that, I am sure, is why he does it.” ― Roald Dahl
“How many a man has thrown up his hands at a time when a little more effort, a little more patience would have achieved success?” –  Elbert Hubbard
“I have come that they might have life; and have it to the full.” John 10:10 – The Bible

And tomorrow, I’m going to start that rewrite.

One thought on “My Secret Hoard…

  1. Hi Barbara, thanks for sending me your blog – I back you to be an excellent author – just keep at it and you will get a surprise when the moment is right. I am pretty sure every new writer struggles. I am just back from my two weeks in Australia so a bit behind in reading your blog.
    Good luck with the adventure,
    Ros

    Like

Leave a Reply

