Positives!

“I’m sorry to let you know that your piece has not been selected to be a part of the final book.”

“Thank you for applying for the Margaret Carey Scholarship. I’m sorry to be giving you the disappointing news that you haven’t been awarded it. As you can imagine there was a lot of competition for the scholarship and the judging panel had tough choices to make.”

“Thank you so much for sending us your work, and I’m sorry for the delay in our response. However, having considered it, I’m afraid that I don’t feel it’s right for our list.”

These are just three of my most recent rejections. It’s fine, of course. I knew they were likely to come.

However, there has been a surprising counterbalance to all this in my current project: reading the Dog-Walking Consortium to a couple of primary school classes asWP_20151007_14_53_47_Pro I write it. Check out these post-its I got for feedback on Friday:WP_20151007_14_54_27_Pro

Now, who can stay down with comments like these?

Go, read your work to some kids!

It might not get you a publication contract, but it certainly will put a smile on your face and a bounce in your step!

One thought on “Positives!

  1. I’ve had a few of these rejections recently too, then suddenly an agent asked for the whole manuscript. It still might come to nothing but it helps to know someone likes my book enough to want to read more. It will happen for you too. In the meantime, what fantastic encouragement for a great project – well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

