Hibernation

 

Badgers don’t.

Hedgehogs do. So do dormice, bats, bears and – apparently – bloggers.

Image result for hibernating clipart

I’ve been hibernating. Not intentionally, exactly. It just seemed the natural thing to do. Sort of instinctive.

I know. Before December madness properly took hold, I promised a couple of puppetry scripts. I delivered just one before disappearing into my internet-void blogger cave of without a trace.

It’s tempting to think of this as failure. But why fight nature when the instinct is so strong? And even if I wanted to, how?

All of the signs declared it was time to slow down. Hibernating creatures, I learned with interest, will generally eat a lot of food before hibernation and then survive off the energy. Likewise, I have never written a manuscript as fast as The Dog-Walking Consortium. Maybe I needed a lean stint, in writing terms.

This thought made me curious. I found out that there are several reasons why bloggers animals hibernate:

  • To conserve energy:

I don’t know about the rest of you, but December takes it out of me in a big way. I’m no Scrooge of course (how dare you!), but there’s no point denying that those of us with families, with jobs, with friends, with interests, are going to fight off higher expectations on every front. How to conserve some energy? Hibernate from writing for a bit, I guess.

 

  • To survive long periods when food is scarce:

Winter. Long nights. Dark, cold, snowy, windy days. Perfect for reading for leisure, sleeping and eating. Which literary agent or publisher will jump up with glee between Christmas and New Year and, fortified by mince pies and sherry, stagger towards the scyscraper of unsolicited manuscriptsd they’ve been meaning to read all autumn? I might as well hibernate. Now is a good time to do it.

  • To greatly slow the metabolism, reducing body temperature for days, weeks or even months at a time.

I’m magically mesmerised by the concept of ‘greatly slowing’. Beautiful and attractive words they are.

And I have and I shall! Image result for hibernating animals clipart

Days, weeks, months – however long it takes to see me emerging out of that cave, ready to face the outside world again with claws and fangs bared.

Attacking once more with the very best writing I can muster.

Peace on earth to you, fellow writers. Just now is for dreaming up ideas. But I’ll be ready soon, and hungry…

Leave a Reply

