The Ride (4): Roll With It!

I’m being carried forward, there’s no doubt about that!

Once my head is in the zone, editing becomes surprisingly easy. I have wielded the cattle-prod up and down the hill with my heroine, confronted the Sherriff Officer before he could deliver the eviction writ, unwittingly started a revolution, nearly been trampled to death in the resulting riot.

Yes, stories are definitely like gravity, propelling us into their worlds. There’s not a lot you can do about it. A decent story and your imagination, when combined, explode into something new, special and unpredictable every time.

I learned something this week: even if you have written it yourself, a story can still weave its magic in that way. Fir for Luck is no exception: the words I wrote months ago collided fresh with my imagination during the editing. Even now, at the 5th and 6th time of reading, they can generate something special. You know what? I’m enjoying The Ride, throwing my hands up high into the air and rolling with it.

When you consider the setting it is taking me to every day, it’s no wonder. Not a bad place to hang out (in your head), is it?DSCF1257.JPG

I like where I am.  I like the momentum of the Ride, and even the times when my stomach is catapulted into my mouth are exciting. Especially now.

Because, deep below me, I can make out the end. You have guessed it: there is a provisional date for publication. Provisional, do you hear? It may change, but I have a date to work with: the 21st of September. The school launch at a local primary school is pencilled in already. Now I just need to confirm final arrangements with Waterstones for the night-time one, and we’ll be good to go.

Just another twenty thousand loops to go before then.

Stay tuned for the rest of the Ride. I love the fact that you’re with me!

2 thoughts on “The Ride (4): Roll With It!

  1. Roll on that Date! I just want to see it on the Bookshop shelves; be able to say “Oh I know the Author; she’s a very good friend of mine”. 8~{)>

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

