School visits, a hopefully helpful guide by Bryony Pearce

What a comprehensive, all round fantastic post. And many of the principles work in Scottish schools, too. Thanks a lot, Bryony.

Bryony Pearce, author

First up, let me say that I am not an expert and I’m not claiming to be.  I’ve been doing school visits for well over a year now, but there are authors out there who have been doing them for over twenty years and have a lot more insight than I do.  However, I recently identified a need for debut authors to have some kind of central information source, so I thought a post about school visits from someone who has done a few would be helpful.

While planning this post I also polled a few friendly librarians and I include their comments as they are experts.

My first school visit was terrifying, I had no idea what to expect and the thought of receiving that ‘I’m bored’ look from a room full of teens gave me the shakes.  I hope that my hints and tips below will alleviate those…

View original post 3,350 more words

Leave a Reply

