#WritingQuoteFebruary #3

orwell

Orwell has always been a bit of a hero of mine. He is the prime champion of having something to say. Not constructing art for its own sake, not making a name for yourself, but to get a hearing for something that matters.

It’s a challenge to me, this – surely not all writing has to be harrowing like Orwell’s 1984 or Animal Farm, not to speak of his essays. But I do ask myself: does this idea matter? Will I invest my time in this project?

Yes, I will – because it matters. And because I’m not frightened.

 

Leave a Reply

