#WritingQuoteFebruary #15

When I grew up I had the kind of family who did not, on the whole, read fiction. 

Even now, my mother prefers biographies, my sister reads mainly non-fiction; and it has made me think, many times over, why I am, and always will be, a fiction girl.

In the end, it boils down to the fact that I LOVE stories in a completely irrational way. My brain is wired for story. When I was looking after young children at home, the last thing I wanted to read was a book about how to be a better mother. No, give me kingdoms and dragons and battles and danger! That was what I craved. Needed, even. And to a degree, I still feel this way: fiction is not less worthy to me. It is simply less constrained.

And now, for the first time, I have come across a quote that sums it up, better than I could ever say it. Today’s quote is from Neil Gaiman.

Image result for Neil Gaiman

“Stories may well be lies, but they are good lies that say true things, and which can sometimes pay the rent.”

Neil Gaiman

Leave a Reply

