#WritingQuoteFebruary #16

I am in editing mode. Does this manuscript make sense? Does it hook and grab a reader, and hold their attention throughout. Enough Victorian detail to give a flavour of authenticity? Too much detail? Too little?

Am I using the right words for the target audience? Do the characters appeal? Is my villain villainous enough? Am I consistent about character motivation? Am I making a mess of the dialect elements?

Editing is laden with self doubt, which is why I thought I’d go for a couple editing quotes on brevity today.

 

Image result for Thomas Jefferson
Thomas Jefferson

 

 

Image result for Mark Twain
Mark Twain

 

‘The most valuable of all talents is that of never using two words when one will do.’

Thomas Jefferson

‘Substitute “damn” every time you’re inclined to write “very”; your editor will delete it and the writing will be just as it should be.’

Mark Twain

 

Leave a Reply

