On THE RIDE again (4): If you don’t ask, you don’t get

I am learning.

Learning more, learning faster, learning better. I am engulfed in the second lot of edits with Punch, rephrasing, rewording and re-thinking the manuscript after six weeks away. Unlike a lot of my writer friends, I actually enjoy this process more and more. It reassures me that someone else (in this case Cranachan editor Anne Glennie) has cast a beady eye over my words. I don’t mind being told that I overuse ‘just’ and ‘lapping’ and and ‘stumbling’ – I am genuinely grateful that somebody would point this out before I can publicly disgrace myself!

And multi-tasking with the best of them, I am also turning my attention to the Punch book trailer. I loved making the book trailer for Fir for Luck (find it here if you haven’t seen it!). LOVED it!

Maybe it is the varied nature of it: a small-scale project. Writing a screen-play for a mere minute of Youtube output, sourcing props and costumes and music, making the whole thing work. I absolutely adore the whole process.

Like last time, I approached family friend Ross with my request. I can sort of film and sort of edit, but he can do both, without the ‘sort of’ – and he does it really, really well. Sadly, I can’t afford a king’s ransom, but he is going out with my niece now, so asking him to do the trailer for a small fee became easier :). ‘Sure’, he said, ‘I’ll happily do that if you can produce it!’

I had never thought of my all-rounding as ‘producing’ before, but if that’s what he wants to call it…

Image result for Punch and Judy
The Museum’s Punch and Judy are unlikely to be in such perfect condition as these.

I dived deep into the costume cupboard to find vaguely Victorian stuff for my 12-year-old to wear as he sprints across old bridges and over cobbled stones. And, while there was some running in the trailer script, we also needed at least a little bit of puppetry, especially given the title of the novel.  I hunted for wooden Punch and Judy puppets on Ebay (with only limited success). I asked around and eventually succeeded in borrowing a giant-sized Punch puppet head from my research expert. Would it do? Not sure – as it had to be a functioning puppet… I reached for the sewing machine. But hang on, I had seen some images of actual Victorian puppets in my research, credited to Inverness Museum. I wonder…

Worth a go, don’t you think?

I popped along to the museum in my Sunday best, only to find that the person I needed to impress wasn’t actually there. I politely asked for her email address and sent my begging letter that night.

puppet borrow

The wonderful reply came back today: Not only will they allow us to film in the Museum this Friday, but they will bring the puppets up from their depot an hour south of here especially! I feel like dancing. Mr Punch may only make a brief appearance in the trailer, but I’m sure for me he’ll be the star of the show!

See ya! I’m off to buy some stripy fabric to use in the shots.

Lesson learned:

Just ask.

Always!

 

 

Leave a Reply

